jlbhlblklk Deutsche Gesellschaft für Meeresforschung - Aktuelles

Georg-Wüst-Preis 2017


Prof. Ilker Fer receives the Georg Wüst Prize 2017

It is our great honour and distinct pleasure to announce Prof. Ilker Fer (Geophysical Institute, University of Bergen) as this year’s recipient of the Georg Wüst Prize. The biannual award is presented for the seventh time by the German Society for Marine Research (DGM, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Meeresforschung) and kindly supported by the publisher Springer and the Journal Ocean Dynamics.

The inaugural presentation of the Georg-Wüst Prize was in 2005 in Vienna at the EGU general assembly. Arnold Gordon and Jörg Wolff presented the award to Stephen Rintoul. In the following years an illustrious group of marine researchers was awarded: Eberhard Fahrbach (2007), Karen Heywood (2009), Andreas Oschlies (2011), Gregory Johnson (2013), Carsten Eden (2015) and now Ilker Fer.

Congratulations Ilker!

Prof. Dr. Boris Koch

President German Society for Marine Research